Anthem Lights, formerly known as Yellow Cavalier, is an American Christian boy band originating from Nashville, Tennessee. The group has released one EP under their former name and one EP under their current name. The group's debut album was released May 10, 2011 by Reunion Records.


Solo project (2007):

Anthem Lights began as a solo project for vocalist Chad Graham in the fall of 2007. Both he and singer-songwriter Alan Powell were living in Los Angeles, writing music for Graham's solo project. As the final vocal work was being installed, Powell and Graham came to a realization that the songs being written would be more appropriate performed as a group. It was then that Powell and Graham decided to alert their contacts at Liberty University in an effort to recruit members for what was now a singing group. Powell and Graham's contacts came to a consensus that Kyle Kupecky and Caleb Grimm would be the best candidates for the project. After receiving notifications by e-mail, Graham flew from Los Angeles to meet with Kupecky and Grimm, who gladly accepted membership. Powell joined the group at the last minute.

Yellow Cavalier (2008-2009):

The original name of the group was Yellow Cavalier. After the group formed, this name was chosen. The group recorded one self-titled EP under this name in 2009. The EP was released independently on May 26, 2009. The group changed their name to Anthem Lights before any other projects were released.

Name change and record deal (2010)

The group's name changed to Anthem Lights sometime after their independent release as Yellow Cavalier. Months later, the group signed to Reunion Records. The exact dates of the name change and record deal are unknown. Vocalist Kyle Kupecky comments about the meaning behind the name:


These songs and this record is our anthem to the world saying, "Listen, we know there's a lot of darkness in this life, but in the end, light is gonna win." And we wanna be the light to people and just show them who the light of the world is.



Self-titled releases (2011)

On February 1, 2011, Anthem Lights released the Anthem Lights EP. Although it was the second EP by the group, it was the first on Reunion Records and the first under their current name. The EP received very positive reviews and chart success as "Can't Shut Up," the first track from the EP, peaked at #42 on Billboard's Christian Songs chart and at #27 on the CHR radio charts. The three-track EP is being deemed a sampler as all of the tracks on it will be featured on their debut album, which is also self-titled.

The album was released May 10, 2011. The cover art is similar to the EP in that it simply the official band photo under the official band logo. The only difference is the background color.

National tours (2011-present)

Anthem Lights performed on the Listen to the Sound Tour. The tour was headlined by Building 429, since the tour carried the same name as their latest album, and it featured Revive. Anthem Lights performed on the 2011 Rock & Worship Roadshow tour along with MercyMe, Jars of Clay, and The Afters.

Group members

Current members:

Chad Graham - vocals,

Caleb Grimm - vocals,

Kyle Kupecky - vocals,

Alan Powell - vocals