Browse Music
Austin, TX, USA

Pompeii is an American rock band formed in Austin, Texas in 2005. The band comprises Dean Stafford (vocals, rhythm guitar), Erik Johnson (lead guitar), Rob Davidson (drums), Colin Butler (bass) who replaced founding member Shane Stevens after he left the band. Caitlin Bailey has since parted ways with the band. Pompeii has been playing shows in and out of Austin, Texas since 2005. Pompeii released their debut album Assembly (produced, recorded, and mixed by D. James Goodwin) in late 2006 to moderate success and critical acclaim. The follow-up full-length Nothing Happens For A Reason was issued on October 21, 2008, and was produced, recorded and mixed by CJ Eiriksson. According to their Myspace they are currently working on a third full length, scheduled for a 2011 release. Pompeii is often compared to Death Cab For Cutie and Sigur Rós, more specifically the similarities between singer Dean Stafford’s vocals and Ben Gibbard’s. Dean Stafford's tenor emotive vocals and former member Caitlin Bailey's cello playing are credited with providing the band’s signature sound. Among the band's influences are Explosions in the Sky, Mogwai, and Phil Collins, with members also bringing classical and punk influences to the band. Singer Dean Stafford listed as his own personal influences as Elliott Smith, Jeff Tweedy and Ben Gibbard. Pompeii's style has noted as being in the vein of emo and indie pop, having a saturated ambient, elegant sound.