The Summer Obsession is a punk band from Jacksonville Beach, Florida, United States. The band originally started in 2004 by Luke Walker & Fin Leavell. They went through several members until they recruited drummer Chris Wilson. The band has previously been on tour with bands such as Cartel, Mya, The Click Five, Story of the Year, Saosin, Permanent Me, Hit the Lights, Houston Calls, Monty Are I, Against All Authority, Whole Wheat Bread, Plain White T's, New Years Day and many more. Two Types Of People was the first CD released by the outfit, which featured a cover of Tom Petty's Free Fallin - 6 years before Circa Survive released their cover of the same song. The group was slated to play on dates of the 2004 Warped Tour, but their stage was cancelled; after finding this out, they moved to Los Angeles, where they landed a deal with Virgin Records after several months. Late in 2005, they appeared on a MySpace Records compilation.

This Is Where You Belong is their debut major label album released in August 2006 on Virgin Records. They appeared on Cartoon Network's Fridays and performed the songs Melt the Sugar & Disappear. They have also played in Japan on two occasions.

In mid 2009 the band started working on their new album, 'Believe Nothing Explore Everything'. It was recorded at Pulse Recording in Silver Lake, California. The band recorded, produced and mixed the album themselves. The EP was released March 31, 2010 and can be downloaded for free on the band's official website at

The band is signing to Bullion Records in Japan to release a special Japanese edition of 'Believe Nothing Explore Everything'.